Getting the bends

Okay so I may well have banged on about it to pretty much anyone who would listen…but I did the Alpe d’huez triathlon in July, a few days after my 30th birthday. It involved six months of training, and a LOT of hills. As in, meet a hill on a cycle, climb it, then cycle back down and do it again. Twice more. Plus some serious mileage and hill running and lots of core work in the lead up to try and improve both my swimming and my positioning on the bike. Normally I quite like hills, but the 21 bends up to Alp d’huez were going to be something else and I was pretty scared by the time we got to France. Okay, I won’t lie, when we drove it in the car the day before I cried.

But actually, drum roll please, it wasn’t quite so bad. The scenery was amazing and the support was insane, even from other competitors. I loved it, it was one of the best races I have ever done and I have 20 years of competing behind me now so that is no mean feat. A once in a lifetime experience.

So I’m extremely lucky that a few of my friends bought me this amazing print for my birthday to celebrate. It makes me happy every time I look at it, partly because its a great, simple but striking design and partly because it reminds me anything is possible if you put your mind to it. Even a small girl climbing a big mountain.

20130908-193305.jpg

20130908-193312.jpg

Print and images from The Handmade Cyclist and also available on Etsy

Next stop…I’ll have to complete all the iconic routes designed by The Handmade Cyclist and get the full set…

Leave a Reply

