A simple solution – beautifully found

well well I did have a lovely time this weekend – my favourite city in the world and doing my favourite thing, looking at vast amounts of beautiful things and clever design.

One of the best pieces of design I saw was something whose simplicity blew me away. Simple but extremely clever, and impeccably made. This table, and the chairs by the same company, do an excellent job for all of us in these small London flats, by saving space but retaining style.

The table opens up via a very clever diagonal twist and unfold technique from a four seater to an eight seater. The lady did demonstrate it to me, but as seamless as it was I am not sure exactly how it worked. All I know is it was smooth and it looked incredible. Perfect for opening up when you have your pals round at the weekend, and then it reverts back to your normal square table when it’s just you, your laptop and some scrambled eggs on a rainy Monday night (or maybe that’s just me).

 

 

Images and table from Seer

Look…two chairs, then you slot them together and they look like one! Solves that problem of unsightly stacked chairs, which I think never looks quite nice. But it’s better to have stacked chairs than nowhere for your mates to sit when they come round for snacks. Plus they’re comfortable, I tested them for you.

These chairs are the type of design that makes you say ‘of course…now why didn’t I think of that?’ knowing full well I could never execute it as brilliantly as this.

And that my friend, is perfect design.

Images from Vincent/Vera by Matthew Bridges Design

 

Leave a Reply

