Round in Rio

This building houses a contemporary art museum in Rio de Janeiro and really caught my eye. Not entirely sure why, but the red slope leading up to the museum just makes me want to run up it.

Image from Theodora

Designed by Oscar Niemeyer (assisted by structural engineer Bruno Contarini), it was completed in 1996 and sits on the top of a huge cliff in Rio – just like a UFO has landed. I’d love to tell you more…but my Spanish is pretty bad. But click here for the museum site if you reckon you can do better (and let me know!)

2 comments
  1. Love this style! So coooool! Have you seen the Chemosphere house in LA? Google it, or it’s in one of my posts if you want to search there.

    • Ooh no I haven’t seen it, I’ll take a look at your site and check it out – thanks for the tip! Have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

